Kid Icarus: Uprising – First Impressions

March 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

Kid Icarus: Uprising is finally out in North America and Europe, and it’s flying its way into the hands of many eager fans as we speak. I’ve been playing it recently myself, and voilà, my initial impressions are below.

The game comes with an instruction booklet, a stand for your Nintendo 3DS system, and six AR (augmented reality) cards. The usual 3DS cartridge case comes in a nice box that is best used for keeping the 3DS stand so you don’t lose it. Other than that, you can keep the box in the event that you sell the game someday.

I played the game for about an hour and a half. I played through the first two chapters, and then replayed the same chapters a few times on higher difficulty levels and with different weapons. Here is my evaluation on various parts of the game.

  • Story: The game starts off jumping right into the story. There’s no long prologue sequence or anything, and it’s actually quite nice. The story is generally interesting, but you cannot judge it until you’ve played a decent ways into the game.
  • Dialogue: Before the game came out I had always been annoyed at the voice acting for the reason that it just wasn’t all that great. When I played the game, however, it was a different story. The dialogue is humorous, clever and comical, with random conversations between the characters occurring here and there throughout the gameplay. It generally makes the game much more enjoyable, and the voice acting is perfect for the characters.
  • Air combat: This is the part of the game where you fly through the sky blasting enemies. It takes a short time to get used to the controls, but after you do, the game becomes an explosion of fun. This part of the game appears limited in variety, but it adds variety to the rest of the game.
  • Ground combat: Before playing, I’d read a review from a website that criticized the ground combat and said it really wasn’t all that great. My expectations lowered a lot, but actually playing the ground combat met my initial expectations, and I ditched those expectations I gained from biased review. These parts of the game feel far more adventurous, and at present I strongly prefer them to air combat. The camera can be a bit hard to control, but I didn’t find it much of a nuisance at all.
  • Graphics: The visuals are beautiful, especially during air combat. I can’t really say much about this topic except, well, they were beautiful. Anything can look amazing when you’re flying at super-fast speeds overhead, but they’re gorgeous even when flying slowly.
  • Soundtrack: The music is brilliant; a perfect fit for the game. The quality and grandness is great, and it’s all that you would expect from the composers. I eagerly await the release of the OST.
  • AR cards: These are for mere entertainment. There isn’t much point to them, other than taking pictures and making them battle (which I have to admit is pretty cool), but they’re a cool collectible and I hope I can find more of them in the future.
  • “Icarus Claw”: Reviews have blasted the game because, apparently, its control scheme can cramp your hand, and that’s why the stand was included with the game. However, if you look into it, it’s not much of a problem at all. If you experience it, which is pretty doubtful, then just use the stand or change the controls.

So there; my first impressions. It’s not a complete analysis of everything I experienced, but that would take forever. You probably wouldn’t want to read that anyway.

From what I’ve played, I would say the game does not disappoint. If you’ve played the game already yourself, feel free to share your first impressions below in the comments.

Happy playing!

§ One Response to Kid Icarus: Uprising – First Impressions

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kid Icarus: Uprising – First Impressions at Uprisen.

meta

